(Located at Pier 5, Inner Harbor, Baltimore, MD – Oldest screwpile lighthouse in Maryland – Revised 09/02/08)
1855 Light station established at the mouth of the Patapsco River. Second screwpile built on the bay – unique circular design 40 feet in diameter and made of cast-iron. Nearby Bodkin Light decommissioned.
1856 Fourth-order Fresnel lens installed.
1884 Foundation pile damaged by moving ice. 790 cubic yards of riprap added to absorb future attacks by ice.
1933 Last civilian Keeper Thomas J. Steinhise receives Congressional Medal for Heroism for rescuing the five-man crew of the sinking tug Point Breeze during nor’easter.
1948 Light automated. Deterioration begins.
1988 Coast Guard donates light to city of Baltimore. Derrick & barge move the 220-ton structure seven miles north to Pier 5, Inner Harbor.
Restoration begins with help from Steinheise family.
1997 Lighthouse becomes part of the Baltimore Maritime Museum and serves as the offices of The Living Classrooms Foundation.
2008 BMM merges with USS Constellation Museum. Lighthouse becomes part of Historic Ships in Baltimore. LCF retains office in lighthouse.
Source: Bay Beacons by Linda Turbyville