Timeline: Piney Point Lighthouse

(Known as the Lighthouse of Presidents – summer retreat of Presidents Monroe, Pierce & Teddy Roosevelt, located on the grounds of Piney Point LH, Museum and Historic Park, Piney Point, MD – Revised – 09/02/08)

1836 Thirty-four foot tall brick lighthouse and Keepers’ dwelling built by John Donahoo of Havre de Grace, MD for approximately $5,300.
1855 Old reflecting apparatus consisting of 10 lamps and 10 15-inch reflectors replaced with a 5th order Fresnel lens. Range increased to 11 miles.
1880 Thirty foot tall bell tower added to the light station for fog protection. 1884 Keepers’ dwelling enlarged with addition of second story.
1954 Bell tower destroyed by Hurricane Hazel and not rebuilt.
1964 Lighthouse decommissioned by US Coast Guard.
1980 Ownership transferred to St.Marys’ County and placed under jurisdiction of the St. Clement’s Island- Potomac River Museum.
2002 Wooden stairway installed to allow access to lantern room.

Source: Bay Beacons by Linda Turbyville

Permanent link to this article: https://cheslights.org/timeline-piney-point-lighthouse/